Friday April 20, 4 planks on.

I don’t think that I have ever managed to see such fast progress on a boat build, but then previously, I haven’t had the benefit of working with such a committed group of volunteers.

This evening, our team of six regulars had finished gluing up plank 4 on the Heritage 23.  She is beginning to look like a boat, and as the planks start the turn of the bilge, we will see a big change in the look of her.

I have built quite a few clinker ply boats from my kits.  This one is definitely going together more easily than any of the previous designs.  It is probably largely to do with the the planking being finer, and hence easier to twist into the right position.  It’s possibly also to do with the straighter run of the planks compared to many of Iain Oughtred’s designs.  Whatever the reason is, this boat is a good one for amateurs to build – there are other features that are simpler and these I will cover in a retrospective post after the weekend.

Anyway, below are the pictures of today’s progress, with planks 3 & 4 going on.  With a demanding schedule to get the hull turned well before I head home to Fife next Saturday, our aim for tomorrow is to glue 3 sets of planks, before we head off to a Blugrass Concert in the evening – if we have any energy left!

Alec Jordan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.